January 2018 Around Town 3

Leiper’s Fork Distillery Offers Tours

The Leiper’s Fork Distillery is partnering with the community to bring back the history and heritage of small-batch whiskey production to Williamson County. The distillery crafts premium spirits using local ingredients and limestone-filtered water to create that signature taste.

Leiper’s Fork Distillery is among an emerging niche of artisan distilleries. It’s characterized primarily by a low volume, low impact concept of production to create a signature premium spirit. The tour lasts about 45 minutes. They’re offered from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. beginning January 16 and are $10 per person.

Go Inside the City of Franklin 

Want to know what’s going on behind the scenes of the city of Franklin? Check out “Franklin Insider” on the city’s YouTube, Facebook and Twitter pages. It’s a quick and easy way to stay up to date on the news around town. Meet the people who keep things running, get the latest updates on new projects and traffic/road construction, and be among the first to know about upcoming events and how you can attend.

“Franklin Insider” is hosted by Milissa Reierson, the city communications manager, and can be viewed at YouTube.com/CityOfFranklinFacebook.com/CityOfFranklin or Twitter.com/CityOfFranklin. Learn how the city is offering solutions to Franklin’s fast growth in the latest episode. 

Williamson County Mayor Files Petition for Re-Election

Longtime Williamson County Mayor Rogers Anderson recently filed his petition to run for re-election. Anderson has been county mayor since 2002.

“I truly enjoy the job that I have,” he told The Tennessean. “It is stressful; oftentimes it is challenging. But working with the general public and other elected public officials, I’m very proud of what Williamson County has been able to accomplish throughout the years.” 

Anderson draws opposition from James Kenneth Eaton of Franklin, who also filed a petition to run for mayor. The seat of county mayor and all 24 seats among the country’s 12 districts on the commission are up for re-election in the primary in May. Offices on the general election ballot are county mayor, county commission (12 districts with two members per district), trustee, sheriff, circuit court clerk, juvenile court clerk, county clerk and register of deeds.